Well, I’ve come across another reason to link with Ms. Rowling, and this one has to do with breathing.

How and Why I’ve Been Strengthening My Lungs

A major surgery (for a serious, but not sinister, ailment) has had to be canceled due to the current COVID-19 pandemic. But before the surgery was scuppered, I had a pre-op assessment, as one does. In preparation for the expected 12 to 14 days in hospital to recover, I was given a breathing tool to help prepare my lungs for the prolonged time in bed. Post-operative pneumonia can be a serious issue for patients, particularly those with mobility issues. For weeks, I did my exercises to ready my lungs for the now-postponed challenge. Once the operation was canceled, I considered stopping but thought better of it for the very reason it was kicked down the road: Strong lungs would be key to recovering were I to become ill with COVID-19. So I’ve continued, and will until I finally get in for that procedure. RELATED: 8 Expert Breathing Strategies for People With COPD

J.K. Rowling Is Doing Some Deep Breathing, Too

Now, according to J.K. Rowling on her Twitter account, she’s also been doing similar breathing techniques (with some tweaks), because she has exhibited symptoms of COVID-19 herself. Rowling’s husband is a medical doctor and recommended the self-therapy to her. She has shared a video on YouTube showing Sarfaraz Munshi, MBBS, of Queen’s Hospital outside of London, demonstrating a breathing technique that would be good for everyone to practice. It’s two sets of six deep breaths in, holding the breath for a count of five, then exhaling. However, on the sixth breath, rather than exhaling, you cough vigorously (into the crook of your elbow). Dr. Munshi additionally recommends spending 10 minutes lying on your front (not your back!) and breathing slightly deeper than normal. (He explains why in the video.) RELATED: 5 Ways to Practice Breath-Focused Meditation

Breathing Deeply: One More Way to Protect Yourself

These are mad times we live in, and we all want to do what we can to protect ourselves from the virus. In the event that we do become infected, however, doing these breathing exercises can set us up for a better outcome by helping to clear the lungs and get appropriate levels of oxygen into our blood. Besides, we all know that taking a deep breath of fresh air can help mind and spirit, along with what good it might do for the body. Wishing you and your family the best of health. Cheers, Trevis