Age: 51 Why I tried it: To boost my mood and mental well-being amid the coronavirus pandemic shutdowns and stay-at-home orders I’m no dancing diva. While I did once teach aerobics and step classes, in recent years my cardio workouts have focused on activities like cycling and Nordic walking. And although exercise has been shown to improve brain health, my workouts weren’t necessarily making my brain think all that much. Then the pandemic hit, and my mental health took a nosedive. With my regular extracurricular activities halted — including traveling and volunteering at an animal shelter — I amped up my professional workload, assumed responsibility for most of the household chores, and sunk into the blues. My bucket of stressful activities was overflowing, while the stress-busting activities were somewhat lacking. I was sticking with my daily workouts, but I wanted to do something different, something that would challenge my brain and movement patterns, and something that would give my mood a bigger boost. Studies have shown that dance can improve mental well-being (and brain health, according to Harvard Medical School), so I turned to Jazzercise on Demand and it worked. RELATED: 7 Tips for Staying Active During the COVID-19 Pandemic

What Is Jazzercise on Demand?

If Jazzercise makes you think of leg warmers and leotards, you’re not far off. The fitness movement was started in 1969 by Judi Sheppard Missett. Today, although you can still find in-person Jazzercise classes, you can also take classes through Jazzercise on Demand, the brand’s online platform for streaming workouts. (It’s part of the same franchise that Sheppard Missett started, now led by her daughter, Shanna Missett Nelson.) You subscribe to the streaming fitness site for $19.99 per month or $195 per year (after a 14-day free trial) and then have access to dozens of classes, including dance workouts, strength-only workouts, and recovery sessions. At press time, the platform featured two challenges — the “Self-Care Challenge” and “7 Day Booty Boost Challenge” — each with designated content for every day of the challenge. RELATED: Why Strength Training Boosts Your Health and Fitness There are workout options ranging from 10 to 40 minutes, classes with or without equipment (like weights or resistance bands), and ones that focus on specific muscle groups (like arms and upper body, core and abs, or legs and glutes). The platform lets you easily apply filters and search within any of these categories. You can also easily access workouts you’ve previously done, those you’ve marked as favorites, and a playlist of workouts you want to try. You can view Jazzercise on Demand on your laptop or tablet; there’s also a mobile app for your phone (Apple iOS 9 or higher or Android 4.4 or higher) and streaming devices like Roku, Apple TV, Android TV, and Fire TV. RELATED: Your Ultimate Exercise Guide — and How to Get Started Today

Here’s What Happened When I Tried It

I started with the cardio workouts, and although I was worried they might require more dance-based coordination than I had, I was pleasantly surprised to find that I had no problem doing the moves. It helps that there are usually only two sequences per song that repeat for its duration, so while they did challenge my coordination, agility, and brain, I felt like I had time to learn and perfect them by the end of the song. Initially, I had to concentrate on the moves and remember what came next, but it wasn’t so cumbersome that I couldn’t enjoy the dance party. I also loved the music, which was as energizing and motivating as the instructors. Their positive encouragement was a refreshing change from some sites where instructors highlight little other than how many calories you’re burning or how you’ll look in a bikini. There are only about seven instructors, and I had no trouble finding my favorites. And while the strength workouts weren’t as challenging as the ones I normally do, I appreciated having predetermined workouts that were either 10 or 30 minutes in length. Dumbbells and a resistance band are the only tools you need, and if you don’t have them, you can always do the moves without them. RELATED: The Best Exercises for Stronger Abs and a Stronger Core

Three Things I Liked About Jazzercise on Demand

Here are three reasons I would recommend this online workout platform to friends:

It’s all about fun. Jazzercise combines dance, kickboxing, HIIT, Pilates, and yoga in workouts that make you want to move. Not only are the moves fun, the music is too. Make sure you can crank up the volume on whatever device you’re using.The Positive Vibes You won’t hear instructors talking about getting thinner or losing weight. Instead, they promote positive messages like “own the move” and “show ’em what you’ve got.”It’s not intimidating. Jazzercise on Demand is created for anybody at any fitness level who wants to have fun moving. As such, you may feel more confident and empowered doing these workouts than more choreography-based classes like Zumba.

Three Things I Disliked About Jazzercise on Demand

Here are my biggest dislikes for the workouts and platform overall:

Class names aren’t memorable. Even though I could add classes to my favorites list, they have such dull names that none of them stood out. Instead, nondescript names like “Dance Mixx 20” or “Fusion 40” made it tough to remember whether I liked a class enough to take it again.Lack of variety in intensity level of the workouts. I loved Jazzercise on Demand for the change of pace it offered in my workouts, taking down the intensity and seriousness. Yet I didn’t come here for challenging workouts, so if you are a more advanced exerciser who’s seeking tough stuff, this site might not appeal to you.Somewhat Limited Options Although new videos are always being added to the site, there aren’t as many classes to choose from as other sites. For instance, if you’re looking for 40-minute workouts, there are currently only 18; and for 20-minute workouts, there are only 11. Of course, as the site grows, this will no doubt change, but it’s worth knowing before you commit (and pay)!

RELATED: 9 Tips to Help You Start Working Out and Stick With It

The Bottom Line

Overall, I enjoyed incorporating the Jazzercise on Demand classes into my normal training schedule as a low-intensity workout option. I always looked forward to doing the dance cardio classes in particular, and I even smiled more as I danced with no one watching. Moving your body shouldn’t feel like a chore, which is why Jazzercise on Demand is a worthy add to your fitness toolbox, especially if you’re a home exerciser. It infuses fun back into fitness, so much so that you don’t even feel like you’re working out. RELATED: Online Workouts You Can Do At Home Right Now