At my ripe old age of 61, I still have that itch to get on stage, but with all of my injuries, that is only a dream. But now I can live vicariously through Avans! His credentials and accomplishments are quite impressive, with MS or without. Avans holds numerous fitness training certifications and has a solid record of placing in the top three spots for his age group in bodybuilding competitions over the past four years. David Lyons: When were you diagnosed with multiple sclerosis, and what were your symptoms?  Denis Avans: I was diagnosed in February of 2012. I have a history of migraine headaches, and after one of those migraines, one side of my body was left with no feeling or responsiveness. DL: What motivated you to start working out to help battle MS?  DA: Exercise has always been a part of my life. I was in excellent shape when I had my first MS episode. I know that by having a conditioned body, I have been able to continue leading a productive life. My first love was lifting weights, and it still is. I have a friend with ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis), and they suggested that I start telling my story of how exercise has helped me in the hope of inspiring other people. DL: What are your symptoms currently, and have they improved since starting a workout routine? DA: I’m coming off a little hiccup of optic neuritis. Between it and another episode, I earned a two-day stay in the hospital. But it really didn’t disrupt many of my daily activities. I know that by being able to keep up a consistent exercise routine, I’m able to bounce back a lot quicker than someone who is not able to do that. DL: What has been the biggest challenge in your workouts post-MS diagnosis? DA: After my initial MS exacerbation, it took me about a year to get things under control with a new normal. I kept walking and gave up the long-distance running. Walking is still a big part of my exercise routine. After that, I was able to ease back into my weight resistance training. DL: How did you initially get started on an exercise program? DA: Like so many, I became interested in lifting weights while I was playing sports. I’ve never really stopped lifting since I started. Sure, my goals and the way I lift have changed, but it’s always been a part of my training. DL: How have you stayed motivated to continue exercising? DA: When I was younger, I wanted to lift in the gym. I loved the way it made me feel and the way that weights can change your physique, if that’s one of your goals. My motivation now is just to stay in shape and build my body armor to compete against MS and any other thing that might try to weaken my health. No one can ward off everything that comes their way, but I’m going to do my part to do the best I can to protect me. DL: Have there been times when you wanted to quit or give up?  DA: That has never even been a thought! DL: What is your current exercise routine? DA: I do something just about every day. Most days it involves strength training with weights and some type of cardiovascular training. I train as intensely as I can, but I make sure my body has time to recover. That’s just as important as the training itself. DL: Have you altered your diet since being diagnosed with MS? DA: I get very strict when I’m preparing for a competition. During my normal everyday life, I follow a higher-protein, moderate-carbohydrate, and low-fat diet. And I also count my calories. DL: How has working out changed your life and helped with your MS?  DA: I was in great condition when I was diagnosed with MS. It has just made me want to work harder to prepare my body for anything that might want to try and attack it. I know for a fact, and it’s even backed by research, that the better condition you are in when there is a MS episode, you have a better chance of making a recovery. DL: What are you currently involved in to help others with MS in their fitness journey? DA: I work as the fitness and wellness coordinator for NeuroRecovery at Alabama Neurology Associates in Homewood, a suburb of Birmingham. I work with those who have MS and other neurological conditions. I’m also involved with a charity, the Tanner Foundation, that works to enhance the lives of those living with MS, ALS, and Parkinson’s disease. And I’ve used my physique competition as a platform to raise money for the National MS Society. DL: Tell us about your MS mission. DA: It’s all about exercise and the benefits of an exercise program. DL: Do you have any advice for those who want to conquer MS through fitness? DA: I love this quote, attributed to Lyss Trayers, that I came across several years ago, and I think it really hits home: “You’re going to carry this illness for the rest of your life. You can either wallow in the weight of that, or you can fight for your only life and make it a good story.”