I hoped beyond hope that something miraculous would happen after that prayer session, but a part of me remained skeptical. The experience also raised several questions for me as a young person of faith. Is it selfish to pray for yourself when the world has real problems? Is it possible to know if a spiritual practice like prayer can be a healing force in the face of a chronic condition like psoriasis? Am I wasting my energy praying if my health doesn’t improve? Time passed, and not much changed. Not only did my psoriasis fail to improve, but my skin took longer than expected to respond to the hours-long treatments I underwent at the psoriasis clinic. I came away wondering if I should just give up on prayer altogether. Today, I’m an ordained minister, but I still suffer from severe, chronic psoriasis. If prayer didn’t heal my psoriasis, I needed to see if something else could come from it.

Prayer Can Help You Accept Life With a Chronic Illness

A couple of my favorite stories from the Bible are about people with physical ailments. In one story, Naaman, an army commander, is afflicted with leprosy. He is healed after washing in the Jordan River. In another story, the Apostle Paul prays multiple times that a “thorn” in his flesh be removed. But his prayer is not granted as he learns there is a greater purpose for his suffering. My own experience with psoriasis has been more like Paul’s than Naaman’s. One of the reasons I identify with Paul’s story is that his ongoing torment resulted in greater patience and humility. So, too, did praying about my “thorn” — psoriasis — help me become a more compassionate and resilient person as I accepted it as part of my life.

Prayer Can Promote Relaxation and Calm

I came to realize that, even if prayer didn’t cure my psoriasis, it did help me. I even found research online, like this study published in the journal Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine, that supports the idea of personal prayer as a coping strategy for people with chronic health conditions. Besides strengthening a person’s character, prayer can promote relaxation. It’s especially important for me to utilize healthy strategies to manage the tensions that come with having psoriasis, since stress can make the condition worse by triggering flares. I’ve noticed that my Apple Watch often registers time spent in church worship services, prayer, or meditation as sleep. That’s because my heart rate slows, my mind calms, and my muscles relax. I’ve especially needed this restorative effect during the anxious days of the pandemic. Prayer and meditation can also improve and protect your overall emotional health. They provide a sense of purpose and social support, while lifting your spirits and helping you face life’s difficulties. RELATED: How to Beat the Psoriasis-Stress Cycle

Prayer Can Be Part of a Holistic Approach to Wellness

My experiences as a patient and minister have taught me that prayer can be part of a holistic approach to treating psoriasis that considers not just the body but also the mind and soul. If someone asks if they can pray for me, the gesture helps both through their offer and the prayer itself. Much of my emotional healing from the bullying and teasing that I faced in childhood came through prayers. As a minister, I’ve seen the beneficial power of prayer in others. When my friend’s sister-in-law Lucy became very ill with advanced cancer, I was invited to visit the family. Lucy was in and out of consciousness, but she accepted my invitation to pray for her. With her loved ones gathered around, Lucy squeezed my hand at the end of the prayer. I truly believe that prayer offered some peace and solace to Lucy, who passed away a couple of days later. Prayer alone may not cure my psoriasis or any other physical ailment. Still, science, faith, and experience have shown me that it can help ease symptoms and uplift the whole person. Whatever health challenges you may face, try making prayer and meditation part of your treatment plan. You can read more about my experiences on my website, PsoHoward.